Cubed3 Nintendo gaming, Wii and DS

Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 (Nintendo DS) Review

Review for Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on Nintendo DS - on Nintendo Wii U, 3DS games review

Cubed3 likes Pokémon, pure and simple, following the consensus of rest of the world it is pretty safe to say. Merely heading back to early 2011 shows that Pokémon Black Version / White Version were warmly welcomed onto the Nintendo DS. What many newcomers to the legendary series may not realise is that travelling 15+ years into the past reveals that the sublime formula has not particularly changed since its initial inception in the form of Pokémon Red / Blue on the old Game Boy. Does the duo of Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2, the first ever direct sequels so far, buck the trend and offer something spectacularly new and shocking? Long-term followers of Game Freak and Creatures, Inc's games will already know the answer to that one…

Everyone must know about Pokémon by now. Heck, even a friend who cannot stand anything Nintendo-related, choosing merely to focus on FIFA 13 Ultimate Edition on PlayStation 3 and weighing up whether or not to get Rocksmith, was talking about his memories of the craze from just over 15 years ago. Yes, it has been that long! His first words when looking at the copy of Pokémon White Version 2 being played on one lunch break, though? "What?! That looks exactly the same as on that old Nintendo!" Of course, he was referring to the games that started it all, Pokémon Blue and Pokémon Red on the Game Boy. He went on to reminisce about the lunacy of children in the playground with trading cards, how he even remembered Charmander, Bulbasaur, Squirtle, and, obviously, Pikachu, as well as that infernally memorable slogan of 'Gotta Catch 'Em All' and the cartoon series' immensely twee theme song ("You teach me and I'll teach you…Poh-kay-mon…Gotta Catch 'Em All, Gotta Catch 'Em All, Pokémon!"). It was one of those moments where the realisation hits home about how important Nintendo and The Pokémon Company's series was, and how unforgettable it is to this very day.

What does this have to do with Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2, though? Well, the point that sunk in was how little progress has been made, or how it certainly appears so on the surface. In a world where the latest HD creation is heralded as the best thing since sliced bread, sadly the days of the 'bit' war that raged on until around the demise of the Nintendo 64, has once more reared its head, albeit in a moderately modified form. Playing two games with the exact same content matters not one jot in the eyes of mainstream consumers, hungry for a visual feast. The shinier version wins hands-down each and every time. Poor Game Freak then, as its games must not have a leg to stand on, right? Well, sales in Japan are still trundling along nicely as it nears the three million mark, according to track Media Create, but the rest of the globe is another matter entirely. There is enough hype to drive sales high again, however, and it is definitely justified.

Screenshot for Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on Nintendo DS - on Nintendo Wii U, 3DS games review

A sequel, you say? Correct! Two years after the events of the first game, it is time to head back to the Unova Region for another Pocket Monster adventure. Thankfully, this is no mere retread of the previous entry, with a wealth of fresh content on offer. Character movement is still that awkward four-directional, tank-like control system; the redundant 'thud' when walking into an obstacle remains; character sprites are horrendously low quality, despite being 'updated' over the years; and the now ancient monster grunts are just as painful on the ear as they ever were. It is something that has been tolerated for so many years that if this successor had been given a total makeover, many might well have walked away. Crazy, right? In a way, yes, but die-hard fanatics are just that…fanatic. Mess with the heart of the series too much and there would be uproar. Therefore, to appease every man and his dog, compromise was made with Pokémon Black Version and Pokémon White Version, also on DS, whereby surroundings were touched up, characters looked more distinct, and even the Pokémon critters looked more like they should in this new generation, yet not too much was amended. Jerky character animations were left in, making the game looked dated, the soundtrack had some great new pieces included, but retained the rudimentary 8-bit Game Boy monster grunts, and battles merely added a moving camera that adds nothing to actual experience.

Screenshot for Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on Nintendo DS - on Nintendo Wii U, 3DS games review

It all sounds very negative, but what makes Pokémon addictive is in the characterisation; the story's basis has been static over the years, with a rookie trainer choosing one of three species types (fire, water, grass) and then heading out into the world to fill their Pokémon log (the Pokédex), battling against other trainers, beating Pokémon Gym Leaders, and thwarting some other nefarious group that rears its head (in this case, Team Plasma). This time there are new places to visit, numerous fun-filled activities to take part in, and the usual array of weird and wonderful folk to encounter along the way. Unova Region is the setting once more, but two years have passed and the adventure commences in Aspertia City where some new friends are made, and other familiar faces are met, with time leading to their lives changing considerably. Additionally, foes that players thought they knew all about now return with a twist. Team Plasma splitting into two factions, almost competing against themselves? It is the tip of the iceberg!

Battling in the variety of styles on offer (regular, double, triple, rotation), capturing as many Pokémon as possible, grabbing all the intricately placed items dotted around the world, absorbing all the superb little extra details (want to visit Game Freak's offices? You got it!), and enjoying the rivalry between trainers -- all the best aspects of Pokémon are back with great aplomb. Now, though, players can also make their own movies at the Pokéstar Studios, creating feature films that rake in millions of dollars and watching the amusing results of what seemed like basic battles during the filming process. Oh, and there is the little matter of the two new Legendary Pokémon, Black Kyurem and White Kyurem, both of which have devastating ice-based moves.

Screenshot for Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on Nintendo DS - on Nintendo Wii U, 3DS games review

New, new, new -- what is new? Pokémon Black Version 2 and White Version 2 bring Join Avenue, Funfest Missions, Medals, and the Pokémon World Tournament to the table. Become a manager of Join Avenue to build up the place for people to meet and help encourage new stores to open up where items can be bought for use in-game. Funfest Missions has gamers playing with friends in over 50 special objectives, whilst an achievements element has been introduced in the form of Medals, of which there are more than 250 to collect for meeting various criteria. As for the World Tournament, this provides access to Gym Leaders and Champions from past games -- all the way back to the likes of Brock and Misty!

Everything is so thoroughly enjoyable throughout the entire adventure, but currently there are the aforementioned technical aspects holding the series back from ever achieving a perfect ten, and not only on the presentation side, either. The four-way directional movement feels so archaic, as does the menu setup during battles. There is a sheer lack of fluidity that people have merely become so accustomed to that they will never complain en-masse as they are only minor niggles that can be overlooked the majority of the time. However, it is for these reasons that anyone that tired of the formula within the first five years, will have no incentive for trying again a further eleven down the line. Those happy to ignore the blatant lack of core progress will fall in love yet again, enamoured at how Pokémon from outside of the Unova Region can be caught in the early stages, or how three Pokémon can take on three others in special triple-battles. For now this will succeed in its endeavour to become yet another multi-million selling product, but Game Freak certainly has to tread carefully for the series' inevitable debut on the Nintendo 3DS in the next year or two.

Screenshot for Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on Nintendo DS- on Nintendo Wii U, 3DS games review

Gameplay

The saving grace for Pokémon is how utterly gripping its core gameplay is, all tucked away nicely under a story that may seem predictable at first, but opens up into something surprisingly sinister at times. With plenty of play styles to keep battling as fresh as possible, and lots of side missions to undertake in Black Version 2 / White Version 2, even the excruciating random encounter rate can be somewhat forgiven.

Graphics

Pokémon has never been the most visually attractive game, and the fact that in essence passers-by remark how similar this new version looks compared to the 16-year-old original goes to show how little progress has actually been made aesthetically.

Sound

Aurally pleasing during treks through various overworld locations and in the midst of fights alike, at times there are also tracks that are instantly forgettable. Thankfully, though, the good far outweighs the bad, although the annoying 8-bit monster noises are still as grating as ever.

Value

If the meaty single-player adventure is not enough to fill up months on end, the online features and battle options will rule the lives of many in the same way that FIFA 13 and Football Manager 2013 annihilate many people's social lives.

Cubed3 Rating

9/10
Rated 9 out of 10

Exceptional - Gold Award

About this score
Rated 9 out of 10

Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are technically fantastic, taking the core of a remarkable series and building in all manner of new and intriguing features to keep fans enamoured with what is basically a simple formula rinsed and constantly repeated over the years. The only aspect holding back these first ever direct sequels is the standard of presentation, with only minor upgrades since originally gracing the world over 15 years ago, no matter how much the point is argued. That being said, for the gameplay and story elements alone, this is undoubtedly an essential purchase.

Read and post comments

 Buy Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 (Nintendo DS) Buy Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 (Nintendo DS)

Buy Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on AmazonBuy Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on Shop To Buy Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on GameBuy Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on TescoBuy Pokémon Black Version 2 / White Version 2 on The Hut

Share this Review Share this Review

12.10.2012

23

15550

Games you may also like...

Also known as

Pokémon Black 2 / White 2

Developer

Game Freak

Publisher

Nintendo

C3 Score

Rated $score out of 10  9/10

Reader Score

Rated $score out of 10  6/10 (8 Votes)

European release date Out now   North America release date Out now   Japan release date Out now   Australian release date Out now   

Reader comments - add yours today Comments on this Review

There are no replies to this review yet. Why not be the first?
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

I certainly agree with a lot of the points here, despite being a huge Pokémon fan and advocate.. I've only just started BW2 and I know without finishing it that many of the flaws.. or rather the refusal to really change, is all true.

And this is both a good point and a negative point, the age old 'don't fix what isn't broke' argument stands but so does the fact that Pokémon could really and quite easily be something better, more fluid or more impressive with some presentation changes. Pokémon music often has really great composition and instrumentality.. it's just so dated with its insistance to use MIDI music after all this time. With an orchestrated title screen and with Dream Radar using high quality music I can only hope Gen6 Pokémon has high quality music in its future.

Same goes for spritework, I love the battle animations for both trainers and Pokémon, but it took them so long to do and the overworld still looks very basic, not putting the effort into 8 way walking or smooth animation that some games of its kind even had in the GBA era, let alone late-DS era.

It's hard to say if Pokémon is remaining traditional because of the fans.. or because GameFreak is a little on the lazy side. I want to believe Gen6 will bring about a lot of positive change that was promised but only half fulfilled by Gen5.

All that said, sequels should be the new third versions! It's an amazing idea to give fans a new adventure every two years rather than re-releasing one adventure with some extras in it.

More than anything, great review Adam!

( Edited 13.10.2012 01:38 by SuperLink )

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

Thanks for the in-depth comments. I'd welcome the feedback of other readers on the matter as well.

Do you think Pokémon is being held back by its presentation limitations?

Personally, I was pretty torn for this review and almost knocked it down to an 8. However, it would be too harsh to knock another point off for what many may deem trivial reasons. In my mind, though, the controls alone prevent me from adoring the games as much as I know I otherwise would.

Adam Riley < Operations Director :: Senior Editor :: Cubed3 Limited >
Word of Adam | Voice123 Profile | AdamC3 on Twitter
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

Hmm - I think nostalgia is kicking in for me but trying to look at this generation of Pokémon without that you can see how limited the visuals and control (4 way movement) is - especially when moving through the town.

I think the 3DS one/Gen 6 can really be fully 3D with simulatenous exchange with the Wii U (like Monster Hunter Ultimate).

Cubed3 Admin/Founder & Designer
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

The point of whether or not Game Freak can actually handle creating a proper 3D Pokémon is an intriguing point, actually, and one I forgot to touch upon earlier. However, with 3D character models already available in the eShop Pokédex titles, it should certainly give the team a leg-up in that respect. The same issue arose with Metroid: Other M, which is why Team Ninja was brought in to work on the transition from a 2D world to what we finally got.

Jorge, it makes me wonder how many people are still being sucked in by the nostalgia feel and what the reaction would be to losing that old look and feel. Many might point to how home console versions have not been anywhere near as successful over the years, but the only proper RPG-style home console version was Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness on a flailing format and it wasn't exactly pushed as being a true Pokémon sequel.

Adam Riley < Operations Director :: Senior Editor :: Cubed3 Limited >
Word of Adam | Voice123 Profile | AdamC3 on Twitter
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

I don't want Pokémon to go 3D! Pokémon's 3D models have always been so soulless and plastic, I'd like the sprite style to remain at least for battles with far higher quality sprites and animation, maybe with 2D well animated overworld sprites and a 3D environment!

But omg stereoscopic 3D for Pokémon would be great.

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

What would you think about 3D Pokémon using the furry visuals of something like Viva Pinata?

...and yes, I agree, auto-stereoscopic 3D for the top-down viewpoint of the series would be amazing. I'm playing the new Layton now and it looks simply stunning Smilie *hugs 3DS*

Adam Riley < Operations Director :: Senior Editor :: Cubed3 Limited >
Word of Adam | Voice123 Profile | AdamC3 on Twitter
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

Adam Riley said:
What would you think about 3D Pokémon using the furry visuals of something like Viva Pinata?

That might be nice, but GameFreak has always given me the impression that it doesn't have much to develop with or they weren't too great with pushing technology. I always heard those fur effects were pretty expensive or difficult to develop.

I think Pokémon models could look great in 3D, but every 3D game thus far looks very plastic. Mystery Dungeon 3DS only makes me more worried for how plastic Gen6 Pokémon could look if it goes down that route.

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery

I'm happy with the 2D sprites. I dont think 3D pokemon would feel the same, but a pokemon game is a pokemon game, so I'd buy it nether less.

Kittensssssss
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

The Mystery Dungeon models are courtesy of developer Chunsoft, I believe, so Game Freak's may be different. I'm thinking maybe cel-shaded models might look decent enough. What do you think? Rather like Wind Waker?

By the way, are people finding the random encounter seems a bit higher in this new game?

Adam Riley < Operations Director :: Senior Editor :: Cubed3 Limited >
Word of Adam | Voice123 Profile | AdamC3 on Twitter
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

Yeah if Cel-shading is done well enough it could really bring the Pokémon to life or make them look like creatures moreso than boring 3D models a la mystery dungeon or Poképark.
Really though I love any and all games that use beautifully animated high quality sprites, fighting games like KoF or BlazBlue, Wario Land, Muramasa, I'd love if Pokémon became a game with sprite animation on par with those, it's like my dream. Smilie

and actually finding it to be lower! I've heard it's much lower in horrible places like Chargestone Cave though I haven't been there myself yet.

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

I've been wanting 3D models for mainline Pokémin games since it was announced that the DS would get one (Diamond/Pearl). I expected N64esque models, akin to Pokémon Stadium, but nothing came of it. I can understand that they probably didn't want to push the series graphically on the DS, but come on! Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 looks so much better, even compared to the recent Pokémon B2 & W2.

I'll buy a new mainline Pokémon game when Nintendo finally decides to bring it to a new level in terms of sound and graphics. I mean, so far it's been "Pokémon isn't about graphics", but... damn, it's their best selling franchise for crying out loud, and it could be so much more if they at least tried to push the presentation more... It might become suddenly an even more hyped series, namely with some so-called hardcore gamers who are likely to embrace at last the concept if only the presentation was made a bit less "kiddy".

Cubed3 Limited Staff :: Review and Feature Writer
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

To me 3D isn't a natural progression of 2D, they're two different styles and I love both when done well. There's no denying that Pokémon's visual and animation style is very lazy and behind the times buut
I always found that the Stadium.. any 3D Pokémon models were lifeless, boring, lacked the charm of sprites.. and I love that BW finally animated battle sprites even though the quality isn't great.


 

 

What if Pokémon's sprites were this well animated and full of character.. pls Nintendo.

Also on that note I think it's worth mentioning that while Pokémon is Nintendo's biggest seller, Nintendo don't really have much to do with development. They probably fund GameFreak and that's about it, GameFreak don't seem too talented with console prowess. I hope that changes.

( Edited 15.10.2012 22:34 by SuperLink )

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery
Staff Member

The four-way directional movement feels so archaic

Have you ever played games that had 3D movement with a d-pad? Feels far from intuitive to me at least. Four-way directional movement worked in the past and I see no reason for trying to rush it and possibly making a worse alternative in the process.

With a lack of fluidity, do you perhaps mean stuff like the text telling you it's raining, there's a sandstorm or Pokémon XXX is confused and either hit or didn't hit itself, slowing down the pace of battles in the process? If so, I agree with you on that. I wish there was a mode where it just doesn't tell you all the stuff a veteran has read thousands of times already, like Nurse Joy's few sentences about healing your Pokémon every damn single time.

I'm with SuperLink on the whole graphics debate. 3D isn't the natural progression of 2D to me either, most certainly not for Pokémon. Pokémon Stadium 1 and 2 were impressive at the time but compared to the sprites of Gen 4 and 5 (though I wish B/W were less pixellated) we've seen on the DS, they look far less appealing. The flagship legendary Pokémon were often rendered in 3D and looked quite good but you might as well have had full anime openings because it was never going to happen in the actual game anyway. My wish are high-quality animated sprites as well and on the 3DS that should certainly be a possiblity, given better hardware and a higher resolution.

The sound issue, I don't see it as one at all. What were the DS games supposed to have? Orchestrated soundtracks that would get held back by the sound quality of the DS, like Okamiden? Something like Colosseum/XD had? They had outstanding soundtracks.

Am I the only one here with any sort of attachment to the classic Pokémon sounds (I can recognise hundreds of Pokémon based on just them) and doesn't want them replaced with generic, higher quality ones or even worse, the Pokémon having (parts of) their localised names in their roars like in the anime? That would kill the franchise for me, I'm serious.

@Rudy: I highly doubt that a change in presentation would attract those "hardcore" gamers at all, unless Pokémon ends up looking a lot like this picture below or say, Monster Hunter. Those people can continue staying away from the franchise, since they're clearly too mature for it.

Image for

That more general discussion aside, I got Black 2 yesterday and will be starting today if my preparations end up working out. I still have no idea about my team though..I like to plan ahead to get a somehow balanced team without wasting time/experience. Hopefully I can find some places to view all main-game Pokémon in the new Unova Dex with info on how early you can get them as well.

I'll share some thoughts on it when I've played at least a couple of hours.

( Edited 16.10.2012 14:33 by SirLink )

 
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

I think at least 8-Way movement or movement that wasn't based in squares (i.e. more like Golden Sun or LttP than Final Fantasy 1) would be great for Pokémon! I also wish the walking speed of Pokémon games was faster and there's really no reason to them to delay us bicycle or Running Shoes usage anymore I don't think. I also think the dialogue should be more streamlined, stylized or packed, like you said with the Nurse Joy dialogue taking longer than is necessary.

I disagree with the sound point, because held back though they may be, the Okamiden and 3D Final Fantasy soundtracks as well as things like Kingdom Hearts really didn't sound as midi as say Pokémon despite them being a little digitized, I think it's cool that Pokémon is trying a wider variety of music types but I still think the music could be a lot better quality! I actually agree with Pokémon cries though, maybe they could be upgraded like they were in the Stadium games, but save for some potentially good quality imitations or animal sounds I think the cries should be kept as is. Anime 'voices' are awful because well, the voice acting in the anime is awful. It'd really turn me off too..

Finally I'd like to agree that yeah a lot of gamers won't regain interest in Pokémon unless it gets a more 'mature' look but that really isn't a good idea. Pokémon is for all intents and purposes a children's game and the latest Iwata Asks reminded me of that, introducing the games to new players, keeping it simple for children but also having more hardcore elements for veterans is something they probably struggle with (which is why I'm so confused the Easy/Hard Modes are unlockable rather than there from the outset!)

So yes Pokémon definitely needs to be kiddy, I'm sure spinoffs will go in other directions a little like Conquest did, but it's a kid's game. Nothin' wrong with the kiddy. I can however agree that the presentation needs more polish, people can look at a kiddy game and say "wow this is technically impressive!" and Pokémon has not fulfilled that. Maybe that's not its intention but I don't see why it can't do that too.

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery
Staff Member

SuperLink said:
I disagree with the sound point, because held back though they may be, the Okamiden and 3D Final Fantasy soundtracks as well as things like Kingdom Hearts really didn't sound as midi as say Pokémon despite them being a little digitized, I think it's cool that Pokémon is trying a wider variety of music types but I still think the music could be a lot better quality!

I see you disagree, but what's your answer to my question then? I'd kinda like to know. Is it just because it's MIDI and therefore inferior/cheap? Should it be more like this as far as quality goes?


 

 

SuperLink said:
So yes Pokémon definitely needs to be kiddy, I'm sure spinoffs will go in other directions a little like Conquest did, but it's a kid's game. Nothin' wrong with the kiddy. I can however agree that the presentation needs more polish, people can look at a kiddy game and say "wow this is technically impressive!" and Pokémon has not fulfilled that. Maybe that's not its intention but I don't see why it can't do that too.

I don't think people would say it's technically impressive, simply because of its artstyle. You rarely get those comments about games that aren't realistic nowadays. Heck, I've had a friend over at my place who said BlazBlue Extend has really unimpressive graphics, despite the stunning style and high-quality sprites. Smilie

I'm pretty damn sure it's not their intention to push the hardware and up the production values too but that's simply because the games still sell, so they see no reason to do that. People like us both are still buying them, so unless a ton of people stop buying the games, I can't see it happening as things stand. I can't possibly do that, maybe you guys can? Smilie

 
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

SirLink said:
Should it be more like this as far as quality goes?

In a word, yes! Many many DS games use higher quality music, infact being so late-gen Pokémon is using some of the lowest quality music on the system, even games like Pokémon Colosseum, Wind Waker and Twilight Princess use MIDI but they're done so well. Pokémon still sounds very MIDI and I'd rather it actually use what the hardware is capable of to its advantage rather than sounding like souped up GBA games music wise.

I don't think people would say it's technically impressive, simply because of its artstyle. You rarely get those comments about games that aren't realistic nowadays. Heck, I've had a friend over at my place who said BlazBlue Extend has really unimpressive graphics, despite the stunning style and high-quality sprites. Smilie

I think people who respect the art of games beyond technical 3D stuff would. For example those who appreciate games like BlazBlue or King of Fighters for its amazing spritework. would. Pokémon currently isn't even trying to push the DS really, I just think of Mario 64 DS being a launch title compared with games like Kingdom Hearts or Okamiden and.. Pokémon doesn't compare to a single one of them.

I'm pretty damn sure it's not their intention to push the hardware and up the production values too but that's simply because the games still sell, so they see no reason to do that. People like us both are still buying them, so unless a ton of people stop buying the games, I can't see it happening as things stand. I can't possibly do that, maybe you guys can? Smilie

Naw it's not, they don't see it as a priority but I think before long more people will consider it to be, especially if a 3DS Pokémon game comes out looking more or less the same as Gen3/4/5.

I love Pokémon, every game in the series gives me weeks of enjoyment, so I'm not exactly complaining to the point of dropping the series.
But man would it be nice.. especially when Pokémon indeed has a big enjoyability factor for ~hardcore~ gamers and yet many people don't respect the series for not pushing itself enough. It would get a nice chunk of people back in the series to do some simple things like more impressive visuals overall, easier travelling, better music quality, etc.

( Edited 16.10.2012 19:19 by SuperLink )

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery
Staff Member

So...the TL; DR for this lengthy discussion? Let's patiently wait for the 3DS generation and hope for the best? Smilie

Hopefully they have some stuff to show sometime next year, even if a Western release is still going to be far away at that point. I really, really want to see the direction they're going to take.

 
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

Ever since the first gen it's been ~4 years between gens, so in two years or so we should sort of know Pokémon's future... it's at this point I really worry GameFreak's lack of 'expertise' on pushing powerful systems will show, I'm pretty sure not a single person would be happy to hear that the big 3DS Pokémon game looks and plays exactly like the others regardless of whether or not they enjoy the game anyway.

I really want to see the direction too.. I have a hopeful feeling it's gonna be big.

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

I'm now waiting on a special 3DS retro version, with two-shades-of-green graphics Smilie

Adam Riley < Operations Director :: Senior Editor :: Cubed3 Limited >
Word of Adam | Voice123 Profile | AdamC3 on Twitter
Staff Member

A re-release of Pokémon Blue/Red/Yellow on the eShop, perhaps? Smilie The "Generation 1 is the best thing ever, all others suck and destroyed Pokémon forever" fanboys would surely rejoice.

On a more serious note, I doubt that Gamefreak lacks the skills/knowledge to push some great graphics. They have Nintendo themselves as their publisher, surely they could have requested some support from them by now if they needed it?

 
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

I've mentioned it before, but that's the whole reason Team Ninja worked on Metroid: Other M -- the team was really experienced with 2D Metroid games, but when coming to make the Wii game struggled and needed the extra help.

Same could happen with Game Freak, perhaps with Genius Sonority lending a hand. I'd love to see AlphaDream (Mario & Luigi) get involved with a Pokémon game in the future. Random thought, I know, but still a good one, I reckon Smilie

Adam Riley < Operations Director :: Senior Editor :: Cubed3 Limited >
Word of Adam | Voice123 Profile | AdamC3 on Twitter
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

Is it too crazy to want a Camelot made Pokémon game? Be still my beating heart.. that'd be like a dream come true to me. Smilie

Twitter | C3 Writer/Moderator | Backloggery
Senior ModeratorStaff Member

How about a revitalised art direction more in-line with the concept art? Imagine a world of Pokémon that had 2D hand-drawn animation (like the animéSmilie, with lightly painted backgrounds. Would look lush like that Wario example SL posted above

The thing I like about Pokémon is how fast battles can be - moves are animated, but not too animated. You can slash, bite, thunder, fireblast without it taking ages to render out the move. If they do go 3D or advanced the visuals, the quick fire animation is definitely something they should keep.

The ability to retackle any trainer earlier on would be good - not having to rely on a device later on - there needs to be a less repetitive way to level up at the beginning of the game. The fact it's taken me 10 hours to level up 6 Pokémon to L20 is a sign the pace needs to be quicker (or I'm just lame Smilie)

( Edited 16.10.2012 23:50 by jb )

Cubed3 Admin/Founder & Designer

Comment on this review

You can comment as a guest or join the Cubed3 community below: Sign Up for Free Account Login

Preview PostPreview Post Your Name:
Validate your comment
  Enter the letters in the image to validate your comment.
Submit Post

Subscribe to this topic Subscribe to this topic

If you are a registered member and logged in, you can also subscribe to topics by email.

Follow this topic Follow this topic

Keep up with new comments with the RSS feed for this topic, or subscribe via email above.
Turqoise Radio - Cubed3's Glass to the Wall
Sign up today for blogs, games collections, reader reviews and much more
Latest news and updatesSite Feed
Vote on our latest community pollNintendo Poll
Vote: Which eShop Games will you Download this Week?
Castlevania III: Dracula's Curse
Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two
Disney Epic Mickey: Power of Illusion
Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl Demo
F-Zero: Maximum Velocity
Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams
Golden Sun
I am in the Movie
Mario Golf: World Tour Demo
My Exotic Farm
My Farm
Nintendo Pocket Football Club
Putty Squad
Tiny Games - Knights & Dragons
Member of the weekMember of the Week
This week's top member is jres80, awarded the most stars for great posts.
Online Play and ChatOnline Nintendo Play & Chat
General Chatroom: Click here to chat Wii U Nintendo Network Codes - Find other Nintendo Wii U users 3DS Nintendo Network Codes - Find other Nintendo 3DS users
Listen to our Nintendo Jukebox - Classic Mario, Zelda, Metroid songs and more Nintendo news and reviews on the move