Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Reflex Edition (Wii) Review

By Stuart Lawrence 21.01.2010 26

Review for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Reflex Edition on Wii

In 2007, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare was released on all but one current gen home console, Nintendo's Wii. Finally, after two whole years, Activision decided to let Treyarch, the developer of various other Call of Duty games, port this magnificent game to the Wii. If you just own that one console, it was definitely worth the wait.

The first thing you will notice, as with any Wii game ported down from the more powerful systems, are the graphical downgrades, meaning it doesn't look as shiny or spectacular. However, while they lack the same sharpness, the levels are as dramatic and diverse as they need to be to make this game excellent. Although there are a few hints of slowdown every so often, you won't really notice because you'll be too busy enjoying yourself with the game. Needless to say, Treyarch have done an excellent job of porting the game, and its engine, to the Wii.

Before you begin the game, you're given six different control schemes to choose from. If you're not satisfied with those six options the controls are very customisable throughout the game; you can change anything from the button mapping, to the aiming dead zone, and even the Wii remote and nunchuk sensitivity, although, you probably won't feel the need to. There's even an option for precision aiming, which is suppose to give aiming similar to a mouse on a PC keeping your gun aimed in the middle of the screen, other than the standard mode most Wii shooters use.

Before you go out to war, you're put into a training ground as Sergeant 'Soap' MacTavish learning the ropes, going through target practice and an assault course to measure the level they recommend for you. It's now that the war begins. The campaign is short but sweet, and well worth the play through. Throughout the game you'll switch between three different soldiers, two in the S.A.S and one in the USMC. Don't expect it all to be run and gun throughout the game - this war in modern times is usually behind enemy lines, and the story that helps the game along is told well and has brilliant moments which may leave you feeling emotion by the end. There's a non-split screen co-op mode of sorts, too: another player can use a Wii Remote as a pointer, which gives the second player an experience not too different from a light gun shooter.

Screenshot for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Reflex Edition on Wii

After you complete the main campaign you unlock the Arcade mode, which lets you play through the campaign scoring points collectively giving one big score, or through separate levels all in a time limit. It's a fun way to add replay value to the main campaign, you get the choice of which difficulty setting to play it through and it does get very hard at times. After you lose four lives it's game over and you'll get your total score, which will make you compelled to try and beat the high score next time. There is no online leaderboard, but it is fun none the less.

When it was released on other consoles, everyone who bought CoD4 raved about how great the online system was and most of it, thankfully, has made its way onto the Wii. You still get all the levelling up, unlocking new equipment and abilities the higher you climb. The prestige system is still in place - push yourself up to the highest rank possible, then optionally reset the weapons/abilities so that you can show off to your friends/eventually push yourself to a yet higher level. All the perks, all the unlockables and all the original maps - though no DLC it seems - are present, so online Wii gamers should be very happy. What also makes this the best online Wii game, however, is how fast it matches you up with games. There are friend-codes to deal with, but once you add friends you can check your stats and have private matches between each other. If you want to play randomers around the world, there's no need to mess about with the codes at all, of course. The matches are limited to 10 players per match - less than the original, but that’s two more than last year's Wii version of World at War, and the matches usually stay lag-free. There's no Wii Speak support, sadly.

Overall, this is a brilliant and overdue addition to the Wii library, and Treyarch should be proud of themselves for their excellent port job of an already great game. It really is amazing how well the game works on the Wii. The controls never get in your way and are perfectly suited - you could even kid yourself into thinking you're firing a real gun. Plus, the online gives this game massive longevity that other console owners have been enjoying for years. It's the Wii's best shooter and well worth the purchase.

Screenshot for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Reflex Edition on Wii

Cubed3 Rating

9/10
Rated 9 out of 10

Exceptional - Gold Award

Rated 9 out of 10

Call of Duty Modern Warfare: Reflex Edition may be a mouthful to say, but it's one of the most well made and truly great games on the Wii. It doesn't matter that the game's technically two years old, it still delivers on every front. If you're a Wii owner who hasn't played it before, it's worth every penny.

Developer

Infinity Ward

Publisher

Activision

Genre

First Person Shooter

Players

8

C3 Score

Rated $score out of 10  9/10

Reader Score

Rated $score out of 10  10/10 (17 Votes)

European release date Out now   North America release date Out now   Japan release date TBA   Australian release date Out now   

Comments

If this is even half as good as it is on PS3/360/PC, it's still an absolutely fucking boss game. Buy it.

Ian Lee (guest) 22.01.2010#2

OMG!! I was just saying about this game in the Game Decade news! I <3 Modern Warfare and the Wii one is still very good graphics are still quite good I think its the controls that make you want to play it on the Wii

Hopefully this is good enough incentive to port MW2 over to the Wii. There is obviously the demand for it on the console, and it has made quite a big name for itself.

I've heard that it's still great on the Wii, but World at War for Wii was better than reflex. I'd like to check both out.

NNID: crackedthesky
My blog, mostly about writing: http://www.davidjlovato.com
Bert (guest) 22.01.2010#5

I played both the xbox and Wii ones and I think the Wii ones so much more fun!! The Wii remote makes the different do you think there will be more cod on Wii maybe a new one not modern warfare

a germ (guest) 22.01.2010#6

this is a great game!!!!!!!!
watch out for (TI) a germ mwahhhaaaaa!!!!!!!!SmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilieSmilie

I'm certainly tempted by this...really want a 'proper' game to enjoy on Wii...too much party/waggling tat.

Trying to think of a witty signature after 'Hacker-gate'...

It is an awesome game, although sometimes online, 1 person seems to teleport everywhere, but the others move normally, telling me they're glitching not lagging, but besides those very rare moments, I couldn't recommend this game more, it's got me addicted, it's really fun. Especially when you go into a free for all and win 7 matches in a row with a 30/7 K/D ratio Smilie.

Follow Me on twitter :: @Stulaw90 || My Youtube || Backloggery
NNID: Stulaw

Now you all understand... Smilie

georgie (guest) 22.01.2010#10

It is so laggy and we have VIRGIN internet, must ne Wii can't handle the system my 360 does it with NO LAG so how come?

georgie (guest) said:
It is so laggy and we have VIRGIN internet, must ne Wii can't handle the system my 360 does it with NO LAG so how come?

If you're using an ethernet cable for the 360 and not for the Wii that would explain it. Also Xbox live is a lot more stable than Nintendo Wifi because effort actually goes into maintaining it.

georgie (guest) said:
It is so laggy and we have VIRGIN internet, must ne Wii can't handle the system my 360 does it with NO LAG so how come?

I get no lag what so ever most of the time so it must be your internet. I'm on Sky Broadband aswell. Unless you're trolling.

( Edited 22.01.2010 20:14 by Stulaw )

Follow Me on twitter :: @Stulaw90 || My Youtube || Backloggery
NNID: Stulaw

Good stuff Stu. I'm not the biggest CoD fan in the world, but this does look like a decent enough port - though the control setup does sound a little tricky to get used to.

Cubed3 Admin/Founder & Designer

I almost asked for this for Christmas. But I played the 360 version with my friend shortly before, and I actually wasn't that imperssed. It was just the average FPS. But this was offline multiplayer... can anyone guarantee me that the campaign or online multi offers something better?

NNID: crackedthesky
My blog, mostly about writing: http://www.davidjlovato.com
AeroEchelon (guest) 23.01.2010#15

jb said:
Good stuff Stu. I'm not the biggest CoD fan in the world, but this does look like a decent enough port - though the control setup does sound a little tricky to get used to.

He's Probably Trolling.
I play this game on a daily basis and I experience no lag whatsoever.

My username is: @AeroEchelon on MWReflex. Catch me online.

jb said:
Good stuff Stu. I'm not the biggest CoD fan in the world, but this does look like a decent enough port - though the control setup does sound a little tricky to get used to.

It wasn't really much of an issue for me, I got used to it a little bit of the way into the first mission, which isn't bad, but the controls are better than The Conduit's in some ways, and the game moves far more fluidly, it's really good.

Follow Me on twitter :: @Stulaw90 || My Youtube || Backloggery
NNID: Stulaw

justonesp00lturn said:
I almost asked for this for Christmas. But I played the 360 version with my friend shortly before, and I actually wasn't that imperssed. It was just the average FPS. But this was offline multiplayer... can anyone guarantee me that the campaign or online multi offers something better?

Campaign offers a challenging set of missions (depending on your difficulty, I'd at least go with Hardened), and the online multiplayer is orgasmic.

Martin_ said:
justonesp00lturn said:
I almost asked for this for Christmas. But I played the 360 version with my friend shortly before, and I actually wasn't that imperssed. It was just the average FPS. But this was offline multiplayer... can anyone guarantee me that the campaign or online multi offers something better?

Campaign offers a challenging set of missions (depending on your difficulty, I'd at least go with Hardened), and the online multiplayer is orgasmic.

Okay. Sounds intriguing. Here, put it into perspective for me:
Hardware limitations and generation gap aside, does it stand up to Medal of Honor: Frontline? That was probably the most epic FPS I've ever played. If Reflex is even comparable, I'll check it out.

NNID: crackedthesky
My blog, mostly about writing: http://www.davidjlovato.com

Well, yes I'd say so. The Medal of Honor series isn't a patch on COD. If you read up on Infinity Ward's history, you'll find that they're made up of people who used to work for EA making the Medal of Honor games. They wanted to do more than EA would allow, and so simply left and created their own company and own game series.

I love COD, and you will too if you get it.

Very good review and hope to see you on Smilie

I'm sorry the service you'd requested is unavailible Now say Hello to Bobby
ಠ_ಠ

Couldn't have said it better than Martin_ myself.

And Captian, sorry about the other time, when you invited me, it stopped me getting into your game. Hope to see you on it soon though Smilie.

Follow Me on twitter :: @Stulaw90 || My Youtube || Backloggery
NNID: Stulaw

All right. I'll have to at least rent it and check it out, then Smilie

NNID: crackedthesky
My blog, mostly about writing: http://www.davidjlovato.com
Lowe (guest) 24.01.2010#23

Good game! good review guys SmilieSmilieSmilieSmilie

Stulaw said:
Couldn't have said it better than Martin_ myself.

And Captian, sorry about the other time, when you invited me, it stopped me getting into your game. Hope to see you on it soon though Smilie.

no prob, it said you were in a private game

I'm sorry the service you'd requested is unavailible Now say Hello to Bobby
ಠ_ಠ
anthony (guest) 18.03.2010#25

this is anthony and if you want to be my friend enter this code on call of duty modern warfar.

Comment on this article

You can comment as a guest or join the Cubed3 community below: Sign Up for Free Account Login

Preview PostPreview Post Your Name:
Validate your comment
  Enter the letters in the image to validate your comment.
Submit Post

Subscribe to this topic Subscribe to this topic

If you are a registered member and logged in, you can also subscribe to topics by email.
Sign up today for blogs, games collections, reader reviews and much more
Site Feed
Who's Online?
Azuardo

There are 1 members online at the moment.