Looking to Get a New Laptop

Viewing as a guest Viewing as Guest Last visit: 19.04.2024
Search this topic Search Topic

Welcome to the Cubed3 forums! Join us today - it takes just 20 seconds to start posting! Sign Up for Free Account Login

I'm looking to invest in a new laptop for myself. My current one is getting old and it feels sluggish these days.

My budget is £600 at the very most and I'm looking for a decent laptop to last me a while. I'm not an expert on specs and such so I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations?

Thanks in advance. Smilie

I had this the other week. What's your current system like, and how long have you had it? May be something that can be sorted by a RAM upgrade.

Mine's six years old, chucked an extra 2GB of RAM in it last week and it helped it use its full processing speed better, now runs like new. Saved me about £250. Smilie

I've already upgraded it to the max amount of RAM it can take (2GB). There's nothing else I can do to upgrade it further.

Would readyboost be able to help any further? If you have Vista or 7, just plug in any usb stick and click on the readyboost icon on the pop up and you can turn flash memory into usable RAM. It's a pretty useful feature.

But to be honest RAM may not be the issue, I never find myself using more than 30% of my ram, it's more of an issue with the processor if I'm running HD videos or something. Although the new Media Player Classic that doesn't need additional codecs has fixed that.

I'd say look into a Toshiba. £600 should get you a damn good laptop, but you could go cheaper. I got my laptop last year and it has 4GB of RAM and a 2.1 GHz processor and it was only around £300. It was a launch deal with Windows 7. Make sure you get a laptop with a HDMI output, they're extremely useful.

Lol I *think* we had a similar conversation a few years back! I would say build a PC for £300/400 Smilie

Cubed3 Admin/Founder & Designer